Raise Your Vibration Using The Emotional Guidance Scale

Raise Your Vibration Using The Emotional Guidance Scale

Have you ever been told to ‘just think positively’ when you’re feeling low? Often we’re told to flip our negative emotion to a positive one - like a flick of a switch. The truth is, jumping from a low vibrational space to a high vibrational energy is near impossible because too much momentum has already been created. Sure, we know that thinking positively will make things better, but how do we get there when we feel like we’re on the other side of the spectrum?

This is where we can utilise the Emotional Guidance Scale.

The Emotional Guidance Scale, created by Abraham Hicks and explained in the book Ask and It Is Given, is a scale of our feelings and emotions, in sequence from our highest vibrational feelings to our lowest. It is broken down into 22 of the most common emotions and, as you can see on the scale below, the higher up, the happier, and of course, the lower on the scale, the unhappier.

emotional guidance scale

How to use the Emotional Guidance Scale

Hicks teaches us to move up the scale at our own pace. Instead of jumping over certain emotions (trying to skip from Anger to Joy, for example), we need to climb through the emotions. We must speak and think ourselves up on the scale, one emotion at a time.

For example, if you were experiencing feelings of despair (emotion number 22 on the scale), it would be near impossible to jump to the emotion of joy (number 1). You would need to address the next vibration on the scale which is insecurity (number 21) first. Stay there for a while until you feel, understand and address the emotion. Then you begin to move higher up the scale, onto emotion number 20, 19, 18, and so on. Each emotion is an improvement and you will strive to go upwards to reach the number 1 emotion of joy, freedom and love. 

This way, you are slowly dissolving the momentum of each low vibration and ultimately plugging into the highest creating vibrations. Instead of trying to just ‘get over it and be happy’, you are naming your emotions, you are owning them, accepting them, and then you are letting them go, one emotion at a time until you feel better.

Another example? Let’s say you’re feeling disappointed (emotion number 12) in someone for always being late. Try to invoke feelings of irritation (number 10) within yourself by asking why this bothers you - perhaps you feel as though they are disrespecting you and that evokes disappointment and irritation. Now go higher up the scale. Perhaps you say to yourself “I don’t care anymore, I’m not going to wait this time. I’m fine to go by myself”. Notice how your emotion improved and is now at the higher end of the scale near contentment (number 7)?

Keep finding thoughts that improve your feelings, and when you find a new, improved state of mind, you let go of the old one.

Remember, your inner voice has so much power. What you say to yourself truly matters and it is the only way to climb higher towards passion and freedom.

I’d love to hear your experiences of using the Emotional Guidance Scale - has it helped you shift to a positive and happier mindset? Let me know in the comments below!

Sophie x 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published